Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-09-04 - 2:36 p.m.

My father and Uncle, fueled by a day spent drinking and talking about power tools decide that my Uncle needs a new Surround Sound system. I can read, follow simple directions, and own a DVD player. This aparantly qualifies me as a stero expert. So off we go to the Stereo Store to purchase this system. My father is immediatly entranced in some interactive demo involving red buttons that activate speaker sets playing a lovely jazz tune. My Uncle tells some shifty stereo guy that he wants to buy a surround system but that he has to talk to me, as I'm an expert. Uh Oh. So now the snarcky SS guy thinks I'm some sort of stereo hobbyist and so I have to hear all about things that I don't care about. But it worked out, that or because I've been working out, because I got a discount. All sorts of crap thrown in because I was nice and listened to him drone on incessently about Pro Scan and allowed him to demo HDTV (which was HBO's Real Sex, kind of strange) on the big screen tv. So, mission completed I collect my uncle and father to pay for the damn thing. And my father, who is a cheapskate thinks it's costing too much but fortunatly my Uncle is too sloshed to care. And it's really all not that much. I was restrained. I was thinking of sticking it to them but ended up just going with something that would make him happy. I should have thrown in some stuff for me, but I didn't think about it until I was trying to install it. Unfortunatly I got everything working, including the patio speakers so I've only re-enforced the expert moniker. Damn.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland