Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-10-08 - 8:09 p.m.

Okay, my bad. It's been a week. I was in Disneyland though. And if you have to blow off things like online Diaries that's the place to do it. A lovely time. Mostly because after Thursday I couldn't log in a check up on the happenings at work, so I had a blissful weekend. Then, I got in this morning. Lot's of horror. And Torture. It seems that they are closing my office, so it's back over to some dank corner of the factory. I might as well grow a hunchback and fall in love with the gypsies over at WebEx. Although they aint doing so well either. Rotten economy. At least I have also survived another round of lay offs. It's really depressing. Not even designer clothes were lifting my spirits today. But the plant was still alive, managing to soldier bravely onward for 4 days without me. I got Sid this worm that turns colors based on the amount of water he needs. Everyone needs accesories. And I put some spiders and that cobweb stuff amongst his leaves, I thought a little costuming might cheer him up. I was feeling better until I went to the gym. It's gotten so that it's too dark to hike with the dogs after work, unless I leave at a decent hour, which I don't. So off to 24hr I go, which, like my lack of an education always depresses me. It's partly my fault. I go to the one nearest my house and it's the 24Hr fitness for the jocks, a parking lot full of Ford Mustang convertibles, Mitsubishi Eclipses and customized trucks. I should go to the San Ramon location with all the overweight yuppies, or even the Walnut Creek location which doubles as a leather bar on the weekends. Actually, I should join a different gym, one with more panache, but it's not like I go that often. And it's affordable. And it's the only thing that I really belong to. But the fratboy location is right by my house, and so I suffer, the 3 or 4 times a month I actually go. I just do the Reebok machine in the corner and read my book for an hour, making sure I hydrate. So it's not all that bad. But I do stick out, something I hate. I wish I was brave enough to use the machines on the floor and stuff. About all I can usually muster in 10 minutes on the versaclimber, before I have to retreat back to the safety of my corner. I have a doctor prescribed workout and everything, plus I worked with the trainer, (which about all I can really remember about those months were the constant reminders to Hydrate) but I'm still too damn embarrased to walk onto the floor and "pump iron", especially with my zerox sheets on form and reps and checklists. Plus it goes against some of my core values. I'm a firm believer in wallflowering. And really, white overweight males in coordinated Addidas workout gear shouldn't wallflower at a gym full of testosterone pumped up homophobic jocks. I might as well wear legwarmers and a chartruese leotard and do step aerobics. Plus all the grunting and ass slapping scares me.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland