Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-10-14 - 8:17 p.m.

Well, after a weekend of fried foods and soul searching I have finally decided that come tomorrow, and after careful reviewing of whatever offer they give me, I will take the Managemeng Job offered. Or allegedly offered. It's outside of Sales, and I've never really gotten along well with Ops, so what better person to manage? I think I can make some good changes and bring a fresh customer oriented perspective. And I'll get more money and a title that looks cool on a resume. And that's why everyone I opened up to said to go for it. Money. I'm a whore. But a promotion requires new clothing, and that won't come cheap. So the raise will be nice. I saw Paul Van Dyke last night, although if you want to get technical, it was this morning, and was very cool. I needed to have gotten a haircut but I didn't feel too chumpish. I was wearing Helmut Lang, and that surge of confidence carried me through. The man can spin. He's incredible. Plus there was lots and lots of Eurotrash there, which made the evening extra pleasant. I often imagine myself going on Chemo just for the weight and hair loss in order mimic eurotrash, but I've got that damn anglo saxon frame that couldn't appear willowey or slim in a fun house mirror. So I didn't let it bother me and had a good time. Stumbled in and napped for a couple hours before I had to get up again.I went to the Cadence Stars and Strikes fundraising event this afternoon. I bowled on Team Cingular, and after looking at my score it was aparant to all why my Cingular T-Shirt mentioned the Special Olympics. But we were all winners today. My Uncle didn't feel well enough to go which is why I got to go bowl with B-List Bay Area celebrities. The "Star" on my team was Scott Hannon from the San Jose Sharks. He's from Ontario and had never bowled in his life. Not that it prevented him from getting a better score than yours truly. But there was free food (good) and an open bar (even better), and it was for charity (eh, that's a draw). I bid on a couple items for the silent auction but didn't get anything because I was being a cheapskate and also because there was nothing that I really wanted or could live without. I heard from the lawyers in the lane next to us that the competition over some of the stuff got pretty fierce. I placed my highest bid on a Kosta Boda dish I thought would make a good christmas gift but lost to some lady named Vicki who also managed to score some Longeburger items, a Palm Pilot, and a weekend retreat at some Spa. She's probably very lonely. I also saw Bandits this weekend and it was a great movie, and kept my mind off worrying. So I'm exhausted and still worried about tomorrow but I'm sure that I can sink into blissful slumber, which is what I'm going to do now.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland