Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-10-17 - 7:37 p.m.

I had all sorts of problems connecting last night. Just to Diaryland though. Everything else worked. Strange. Must be the FBI protecting us or something. But I got right back up on the horse, or the monkey has returned to my back or what have you. I can't remember how the saying goes. I face the chopping block tomorrow. I was promoted to manager for a fabulous 24 hrs and then all the people I directly report to either retired or left to pursue other interests. Which is interesting. Then I get a phone call from HR asking if I had taken any vacation in the first two weeks of October. Yeah, that was subtle. So I'm going to enjoy my last day floating free on the org chart. All the petty little things I've longed to do over the years of my employemnt seem churlish and mean spirited now. Not that it's going to stop me from doing them, mind you. Today was crazy, everyone was calling everyone else and buzzing about all the rumours and such. I've had a touch of gallows humor, telling everyone that asks me about any person that they are in thier exit interview. I've caught quit a few people with that one. Of course, it's not helping anyone deal, but that's not my concern. Because, rather than pulling together these things generally cause people in my company to hole up in thier cubes and fortify for a long siege. I have a couple bottles of water and a few powerbars stashed away. I figure I can live under my desk for a few days, longer if my network connection holds up. I have decided not to really worry about it, or to stress about finding a new job as there is no point in it, and will only make me incontinent and have my weight balloon up to where I have to wear Termite Drapes for clothes. So, after my exit interview I'll collect all my bibelots into the thoughtfully provided box and egress amiably. So, I'm off to watch Enterprise now. Because I'm a geek. An unemployed geek.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland