Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2002-02-09 - 10:56 p.m.

I'm gassy, irratable, and sleepy. I'm sure you all wanted to know that. But that's one of the advantages to having a diary. And it's curse.

I'm printing the following retraction:

I meant in no way to disrespect the institution of the Olympic Mascot in my entry yesterday. In fact, I now have a greater appreciation for what people who don character suits and go out and make people happy must go through. They are not individuals, not even people. They are but mass marketed representations of ideals that appeal to the broadest range of middle america. The perfect representation of our modern society. The inside matters not, it's all about appearances. So the next time you hug Goofy in Disneyland, savor the taste of freedom, because the man or woman inside can't. I would never be willing to supplant myself in such a way. Not that I have pride. I like the freedom to adjust myself if necesary or fix a wedgie. How would we as Americans feel if we saw Mickey doing just that.

Uhm, my retraction has become a sope box. So it seems. What started all this was that I was talking to Surleigh about the games and she mentioned (casually, honestly) that I really shouldn't have said anything about it. Because the role of a mascot is to be a mascot. There isn't a person inside. And now it has me all worked up. Maybe I'll give that up for Lent.

In totally unrelated news, or non-sequitur, which is my favorite thing to do, I had a very nice time at the O.A.R. concert last night. Howie Day and Come Undone opened for them, and they were good acts. Although O.A.R. went on for 3 hours, which was a bit long to be standing, surrounded by masses of people, all of which seemed to think that it was a Phish concert. The guy standing near me had some of the harshest weed I have ever had the oppurtunity to second hand smoke. There was also a few too many Jesus references for a Jewish band, not that there is anything wrong with that. They didn't actually refer to him as the sun of God, but when you toast someone (it was the guitar players birthday) in Hebrew, then sing a song about your friend upstairs who was born in a barn or how you wished you'd been one of the three men to welcome him, there are issues. I think I've pretty much managed to offend everyone I know now, so I think I'll leave it with that.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland