Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2002-09-30 - 9:19 p.m.

Oi! I locked myself out of my apartment tonight. Which made me feel very retarded. In the future I�m going to have to safety pin a set to my chest along with my name and address. But it might get me on the train for free, so there�s a plus. As much as I�d like to blame a phone call or a rush to get out the door, unfortunately it was my own stupidity that left me outside looking in for about 45 minutes. It should have only been a few moments but the none of the neighbors were home except the college kid in unit A who was so stoned as to not understand my question, let alone respond to simple Please buzz me in. He finally buzzed me in but refused to answer his door. I tried using a credit card, like all bumbling white people attempting to break into their own homes, but I was unnsuccesful. I was trying to figure out how to ask Stony McBud to open his door and lend me a screwdriver, possibly by telling him I had a whole package of microwave burrito's in my freezer, but I needed the magic screwdriver to get to them, when the couple upstairs got home and were able to lend me one. They also gave me the landlords phone number. I didn�t need the phone number. I suppose I should be concerned that a stoner, a screwdriver and 5 seconds is all that stands between the outside world and all my worldly possessions. But, like the cockroach beetle I�m just not going to think about it. I had gone to the library in order to see about teaching adults to read. But for all the wrong reasons. Well, actually, are there wrong reasons? I don�t know. It�s silly, but I have a sister who has life on the upswing at the moment. I�m not jealous, merely threatened. And not even that. It�s complicated. Anyway she has a job working with inner city youth who are deemed at risk for gang activities, is a volunteer EMT, and just bought a Land Rover Discovery. So, I feel that I must up my ante so I�m on par with her. Of course, she is in Utah, so I can pull the Bay Area trump card at family gatherings, but still. I manage a department (of one, GD Company) AND teach homeless people to read. Plus it will look good on my resume. Just doing Special Olympics isn�t enough. This is why I locked myself out of the apartment. This is why it took 10 minutes of shouting �I LIVE IN APARTMENT D� and hearing, �No dude, this is A� to realize this. So, should the send me the information as I requested, it will be a more humble Chauffi that accepts the task of teaching those less fortunate than he the joys of the English language, and literature in particular. And there are book clubs that I could join. Which might be interesting. Should I actually end up volunteering at the Repertory Theatre, as some co-workers of mine would like, then I will be the king of downtown. At least on paper.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland