Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2003-02-22 - 11:39 p.m.

I was torn between writing this and watching Saturday Night Live. As you no doubt guessed, this won out. But only because I don�t have the capacity to appreciate mediocre sketch comedy.

I am thinking of leaving California. I don�t know if I�ll actually be able to, but it�s been on my mind for a while. Chicago and Boston were the forerunners in the relocation thoughts, but I�m open to other places. I want to live somewhere literate and mild with good public transit and broadband. This pretty much excludes the south. Well, maybe not Austin. I have heard that Austin and I might be a good fit, but I don�t know. New Orleans also came up. But I have family near there. Very wealthy family and I refuse to live somewhere that I could be pitied for not having a trust fund that enables me to spend my days hunting on the bayou.

My mother wants me to come home to Utah and write a novel. This is motherspeak for come back and work for your father. I think that everyone expects me to do that. The only enviable thing about Utah is the many good friends I have there. Well, and the cost of living. My take on the cost of living is very much skewed by what it is in Urban California.

I was told to look at Charlotte, North Carolina at dinner this evening. It�s allegedly a very nice place packed with kind hearted southerners with deep accents and warm hearts. I think ice tea on the porch and insects with strange names. But it seems they do have some high tech industry.

I have no real idea on where I want to go, so there is no real plan at the moment. I don�t even know what I want to do at the end of my term. What I�m doing now? Hardly not. In a perfect world I could move into SF, near my sister and her boyfriend. Maybe start a little shop selling whatever I felt like. With an espresso bar and some couches. A hang out. As long as I had enough for rent, light travel, and a car lease, I think I�d be happy. I found myself actually thinking that money was overrated the other day. I�m sure it�s only because I suddenly find myself without any, but the thought was a bit strange, at least for me. I cold cocked it, put it on a ship bound for Alaska to do some Salmon fishing, so I�m hoping it doesn�t make it back. I have to guard against such things. I�d hate to lose any more of my life tenets. Why, I might actually have to think Labels don�t matter, or Saturn is a fun car. I wouldn�t be me.

I�m thinking, no doubt along with the rest of you, that I should have watched Saturday Night Live instead.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland