Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2003-02-24 - 9:04 p.m.

I worked 13 hours today. Because I�m stupid.

It was pouring rain this evening, and I decided not to go straight home, but instead enjoy the inclement weather by walking downtown to have some cheap takeout from a Korean place that I like. Also, I heard a rumor that they are building a bouldering and yoga gym nearby the Starbucks I like to patronize so I thought I�d check it out. It�s not open yet. But soon it claimed. They didn�t have any prices or anything but if I can join for the same monthly premium I�m giving to 24 Hour I�ll do it. Mostly for the Yoga. I went to a climbing gym a couple of years ago, never really got into it. I wrote an article about it though. Talked about the X Games and got some quotes. It was published in the paper. It was my final project for my Journalism class and the teacher loved it. I felt guilty because I made up all the quotes. But who�s to say my Grandmother wouldn�t shout �In Your Face, Charles� if she climbed the crack for the first time. So, I just need to go round during a more decent hour and see what the scoop is.

My Korean joint was closed, which was a touch strange as I�ve gone as late as 11 before and they were open. But feeling adventurous I stopped into Ben�s Fast Food. It was grungy from the outside, with ugly metal screens over the windows and cheep hand lettered signs on plywood advertising the specials, but inside was sparkling clean and very modern. The woman working behind the counter was very friendly seeming, with a warm smile and an accent so thick as to be almost intelligible, which I found out when I asked here what was good. I ended up with Vegetable Chow Mein and General Tsang�s chicken. As she was tying up the plastic take away bag I asked for chopsticks, which made her beam and jabber at me again. She slipped them in with some extra napkins, which I thought was very amusing. I paid her and had to fumble in my bag to get out my change holder and so I slipped the bag onto the crook of my umbrella. The woman found this very amusing and laughed, calling into the back and gesturing at me. Her husband? came out to join her, and while he smiled and chuckled politely, it was by no means the belly laugh coming from the woman. She said something to me that I took to be You are a very funny white devil! but after a couple of repeats it seems I was to take a soda. I gave her a little bow and grabbed a Ginger Ale from the cooler next to the wall, which started the laughter again. I was feeling pretty good as I left there. It�s nice to feel like you�ve made someone�s day brighter. I thought at the time she gave me the soda in return for amusing her so, but I�m just now thinking it probably came with my meal. It doesn�t really matter. I would have liked to eat in the park, but the rain and the curfew (to keep the Homeless from camping) prevented that. The food is all right, but the whole experience of getting it makes it taste better. The incident also let me put the day�s bad taste out of my mind, and along with the Advil I took when I got home has melted the tension in my neck away.

I�m going to bed early, so I can get up and do it all over again. Hopefully there will be another happy Asian woman at the end of tomorrow.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland