Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2004-08-05 - 12:41 p.m.

Like a child shouting Are we there yet? over and over, my secretary grates on my nerves. She�s my cousin, and works for practically nothing, so there is little that I can do. Even my passive aggressive moves have had little to no effect. She beams, she chats with customers about our family business, and threatens to get my grandfather involved, which is amusing only in that it reflects the family�s attitude that he is still in control of the family business, a fallacy that, upon his death, will no doubt cause some issues. It�s a power thing. This is my place and I don�t like sharing it. It�s not a family business, it�s my business. Granted, it was given to me, but I haven�t drowned it yet. Yes, we happen to have DNA in common, but that only means it will confuse the CSI people when I�m implicated but eventually acquitted in her untimely demise. Of course I�m betting on the fact that CSI: Ogden would not have the rabid following of other cities. I don�t like having my decisions questioned, analyzed against what granddad would do (WWGD) and no doubt reported back to the cabal of Aunt�s that make everyone�s life miserable. I�m a private person, despite this public forum I post online. I also don�t like to mull over things, to discuss emotional events and have cathartic sharing. It�s not my style or my nature. I keep things close. And that�s also part of the problem. She, like most of the rest of the family wants to gossip about things until it�s been talked around to the point where we are now the victims instead of pieces of the issue.

I obviously create these issues for myself. Back in my corporate manager days I had my share of bad employees. The upside to all that was the round after round of layoff�s that I used to cull my herd, and then, rather unfortunately, the wheat got taken with the chaff, to stretch the metaphor. I�ve actually been working out a plan for it all. I just can�t afford it, I�ll say, concern in my beard. I know it�s not much, but at this point, well, it�s the only option I can see. I�ve already cut her hours down to just a few days a week, and I know that I�ll get some flack for that, or more likely, my father will. But he won�t take her. Because he doesn�t want someone asking him Watcha doin? Watcha doin? Didja watch the Simple Life? Watcha doin? I don�t blame him. If it keeps up, I might respond to her, Why are you so quiet? with BECAUSE I HATE YOU. And deal with the family fall out.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland