Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2004-12-16 - 2:33 p.m.

This morning, while maneuvering a semi truck through the building, one of my employees was struck by it. Luckily, no one was injured, the person operating said truck slipped their foot from the clutch and it surged forward into the employee sweeping. Why he was close enough to get hit by a 12 Ton truck is beyond me, but then, I�m sure the department of workforce services hears such things all the time.

I�m actually glad that nothing happened, mainly because I just passed an OSHA inspection, and I�d rather not go through another one. While a on the job accident resulting in death is (obviously) traumatic, it�s less expensive and carries with it less paperwork than say a permanently disabling. That carries an annual deductible.

Back in my former life, when I was in the white collar world and didn�t have to worry about semi trucks running over employees, I considered such knowledge amusing but pointless. While a paper jam can get tricky, I was always more concerned about sexual harassment and the like. It seems that my replacement had to deal with someone using a camera phone to take nude pictures of people in the Men�s locker rooms, leading up to a ban on electronic devices inside. I�m very glad to have dodged that bullet. No doubt it was full of meeting after meeting, while dealing with angry people with too much money and too few hobbies that wanted a little spice in their life. Of course, if it stopped just one geriatric old fool from drying himself off with a hair dryer, then it might have been worth it.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland