Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2005-01-28 - 4:14 p.m.

I just logged onto AOL.com using a Centrino Powered laptop. I feel a bit giddy.

Also, I am never going to purchase nor participate in Mardi Gras celebrations for the rest of my life. Those beads are a rosary of misfortune and poverty to the Chinese women who make them and it's sad and wrong.

Well, maybe not for the rest of my life. But when a documentary is a little bit Auswichtz and a little bit Girls Gone Wild, it's hard to come up with something other than a knee jerk reaction. Mardis Gras: Made in China was about the factory workers in China that make the Mardi Gras beads, and the lifes they leave. Intermixed with these tragic stories they show the beads themselves being flung at drunk Sorority Girls and Boys in the big easy. Then, they show the girls who have pinned all thier hopes for the future on this shitty factory job making crappy novelty beads for hedonistic Americans. And the hedonistic Americans see the conditions that the workers live in who make the beads they so casually flash for. And the filmaker discussed his documentary while a woman all in black took notes and smiled inwardly to herself that she was somehow in the know, which was almost worst somehow.

I'm all mixed up. But I have a Hal Hartley film about a space alien that will hopefully unmix me. And I recieved another free mocha from Starbucks, no doubt made from coffee that is destroying rainforests in central america and the profits used by local warlords to subdue dissent and keep slave like conditions for indiginous people.

Maybe I should go find Elizabeth Shue again,

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland