Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2005-05-07 - 10:21 a.m.

In the past 18 days I have done quite a lot of things.

I turned 30, which was not the milestone that I anticipated it being. I expected to feel different, act different, something. But it was just another day. A day that my parents both forgot, which was amusing. Perhaps that was the 30 year old part of me, not being overdramatically upset that my parents had the day slip thier minds.

I went to a Real Soccer game in Salt Lake and am now a hard core fan. I'm having people over to my parents house tonight to watch the game. Friends and I plan on coming up with our own fight songs, making a banner, painting faces. Some very good times.

I saw one of the best concerts of my life, The Killers touring to support Hot Fuss. If you don't have it, then what is wrong with you? The concert had the best lighting for the stage I have ever seen. Yes, Best Lighting Ever. I had the misfortune to sit in the family section it seemed, and while the middle aged sister of Brandon, the lead singer, was annoying, her husband was desperate and sad in his attempts to get Brandons attention. But that all paled in contrast to the concert.

I allegedly was to have DSL set up in my loft, however there continues to be problems with that, back and forth between the phone company, my landlord, and myself. They are now back to telling me that it is not available, yet the Landlord has it in the store below us. They don't know how that is possible. Oh, the phone company. How they stay in business (aside from the governmental allowed monopoly) is beyond me.

The weather continues to suck this week. It seemed like we would have glimpses of spring, but now Mother Nature seems to have gone on the rag, and seems to enjoy toying with my plans.

Work is work, and I continually am amazed that I'm still in business. It has marked a year since I've moved back and taken up the reigns here, and nothing has changed. I managed to lose my painter, who quit suddenly, and so I'm scrambling for another one while doing my best to get cars both in and out using a borrowed employee from my father's store. It's good times. Only, you know, not. My mother has also made the decision to leave, and pursue other interests. Which sounds like I fired her. Perhaps I should just pretend that I did, rather than take it as a defection back to her old life. At times I'm relieved, at other times I'm incredibly bitter to be left alone, which is probably rooted in jealousy that she could just make the call to be gone. The stress was not good for her, what with the wedding as well.

Finally, I had an offer to leave the country and do some consulting work. That I turned down. It seemed the best thing to do at the time. They would not meet my fee schedule, which was annoying as it was a very good deal, and probably 60% cheaper than whichever consulting firm they end up hiring. I also would have had to miss my sister's wedding, and that's really not an option these days.

So, there you have it, the last 18 days since my last update in convenient bite sized chunks. As I look back on it, I realize why I'm so tired, why my parents are so tired. It's kind of like those Life comes at you fast ads, suddenly we are in it and it's happening, blah blah blah. Marketing campains as analogies to my life. That is how tired I am.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland