Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2007-02-07 - 10:02 a.m.

I really do enjoy cooking. I was a nervous wreck about everything before hand, especially since I was flying blind on the salad and casserole. Everything actually turned out pretty decent, and aside from the Prime Rib, Vegan. I think it turned out to be a very healthy meal. I'm kind of impressed with myself. I wasn't in love with the mixture of flavors on the salad, it was strawberries and sweet greens, with a cashew flavored dressing. The nutty flavor complimented the sweet, but I would have preferred an iceberg or something crisper for the greens. The casserole was all right, it had some good flavors but I thought it was too summery and a little too wet. The colors where nice, and it would have been better with some fresh parmesan and maybe a little bit of red pepper flakes. My desert was a mixed berry blend that I baked with oats on top, kind of a cobbler. It tasted really good with Haagan Daaz, the Tofu ice cream was merely okay.

However, the bar has been set, so now I've got next weeks menu to ponder. I've got the potato down, I think, I just need to figure out what to serve with it. I found a recipe using squash and maple syrup that seemed interesting,

I even cleaned the kitchen last night, well, not cleaned, but I put the dishes in the dishwasher and ran it. There are some pots and pans left. I'll do them, I was going to type tonight, but I'd rather not lie to the white update box, and will say, next week. Because that's how I roll! If this sudden burst of inspiration continues, I may even clean up the dining room table so we can all sit down. I'm not makeing any promises, either to myself or to this white update box, but it's in my mind.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland