Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-08-17 - 4:50 p.m.

Well, being Friday and being the Bay Area the traffic this afternoon really sucked. But there were two things of note, one I got stuck behind this ancient woman in a Corrola. I'm not against the Elderly Driving. I'm not. This woman was very safe and was leaving the safety zone in front of her in case she needed to make an unexpected stop. She was allowing for the three seconds they teach us about in Drivers Ed. Of course, her three seconds was if we were traveling at Mach 1. It was very annoying. So I went around her. Didn't get very far but when you are traveling at 12 miles per hour it's the little victory's that count the most. The second thing happned a little further up, where a cop had pulled someone over for driving like an ass and I was thinking murderous thoughts about the man in the Lincoln Navigator because he was driving a Navigator and smoking a cigar and I see him often on Friday's and I hate it. Well, my lane is moving a little better than his and lo and behold I spot a Peugot 504. Now I restored one of these French cars back when I was a poor dumb hick and didn't know better so I was understandably excited. And this Peugot happened to be driven by a girl. Wow. But she had agendas on her bumper about mother earth and bomber bake sales that were pithy in 1982 but I was willing to give her the benefit of the doubt because it was quite possible they came with the car. But from the looks of the "Straight but not Narrow" driver I doubt it. But I was feeling brave or my Saabs filtration system wasn't getting out all of the fumes from the freeway so I smiled and mouthed Great Car and recieved a skanky look for my efforts. So I Closed up all the windows and cranked on the air, the earth mother be damned. She could eat my cold hard freon. And so that's how I passed the rest of my drive, insulated in comfort and listening to some Asian Rave mix CD I picked up in Singapore. Life can sometimes be good.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland