Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-09-12 - 7:35 a.m.

Yesterday was just a very bad day. All around. They were quick to send out a memo stating that all DMC employees had been accounted for and that if anyone needed to leave for personal reasons then contact a supervisor. Then someone started attacking Afghanistan so they sent everybody home. I was in meetings and end of quarter planning sessions all day, but every break people would huddle around radios in the factory. Nothing was really accomplished, which was also frustrating and led to it being a really bad day. It's sad that after such a tragedy, the petty bickering and annoyances in people seem insignificant. Who wants to argue about shipment priority or incoterms when the nation is under attack? Not me certainly, but it seems that I am alone in that sentiment. Although I did have an angry customer who won't be getting his equipment overnighted. But he was in Brazil and I'm sure didn't really understand the significance of what was going on in the States. I don't like the sense of helplessness that I seem afflicted with. I want to do something. I've signed up to donate blood, but due to the mass of humanity doing the same my appointment is not until Friday. But aside from that, there isn't really anything the average citizen can do, especially one at the opposite end of the country. I actually hung around the office doing things until I was forced out. Not really, just told to leave. I didn't know what else to do. I'm such a cog in the corporate machine. The only bright note (and I'm really reaching here) was that my classes were cancelled so I didn't have to suffer the loss of dignity that comes with my higher education.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland