Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-09-13 - 9:29 p.m.

Well, I had a job interview and job offer today. The guy was really annoying. And old, chain smoked and talked about the company family I was being asked to join with the kind of pride that strippers possess when talking about the implants and liposuction they've had to move up to the big leagues, (or so I've seen on MTV and Jerry Springer, oh god who am I kidding I own Girls Gone Wild) and what a white trash family it seems to be. The company and job doesn't seem all that great. It only seemed so on paper. Their "San Francisco based" operations are actually in Livermore, a fact that they don't really advertise. And I didn't like the guy. He was older than I expected and had poor posture, wore cheap shoes and polyester pants. I know you shouldn't judge people by what they wear or look like, but in a sales or customer oriented profession I would think one would put their best foot forward. And this foot suffered from the heartbrake of psoriasis. Metaphisical flaking, but flaking nonetheless. And I hate to think that this guy is the best foot they can put forward. One would wonder what the other feet looked like. Actually, I'd rather not. Toe fungus leaps to mind. I don't picture myself working in some skanky Livermore industrial park, spending my lunches at the Costco eating cheap hot dogs with the desparate middle aged women I see working there, wrinkled cleavage and cellulite smashed into fashions and sizes a few years out of date, and generally letting whatever ambition I had whither away to nothing. My future life flashed in front of me, in 20 years I'd be an alcoholic, smoking 2 packs a day with a huge gut(largerthan the current one that is), a couple of failed marriages and a polyester (or it's future synthetic equivilent Polysuch, the non-toxic alternative to Polyester) suit cruising around in a Lincoln Towncar and leering at 18 year old girls from Las Positas college working the check stands at Costco while I scarf on a Chickenbake and add rum to my coke from the flask I am never without. It was not a pleasant vision. But I got a free meal (Excellent Carne Asada Tacos) and a party anecdote out of the whole deal. Not to shabby in the grand scheme of things. And maybe I can extort more pay out of my current company, or at the very least get that vacation request approved. I'm supposed to rush through my decision because while they like me, they do have other candidates they are looking at. But I'll allow some other person to hopefully be the neosporin that turns the place around rather than the Touch Actin Tinactin I know I can be.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland