Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-09-23 - 5:40 p.m.

As per my usual Sunday routine, I went into San Francisco in order to shop my way out of depression, and maybe see a movie. My sister lifeguards Sunday afternoons at the health club she massages at, and I usually meet up with her for lunch and we plan on what film to see that night. On my way back from Church Street on Muni, they made the announcment that there was an emergency at Civic Center and that we would be delayed. So we are all trapped on a crowded subway car underneath SF, and in light of all the things that have been going on people are speculating the worst, myself included. Because I'm male, I scan the crowd for who I'd want to sleep with if the world, or at least my life, was about to end. The girl next to me takes the cake, hands down (mostly because the rest of the car was filled with old asian women and gay men) She is dressed very patriotically in all reds, whites, and blues. Her nose, pierced, even has a tiny star stud in it. Plus she's attractive, and not in the we are about to die so I'll settle for you way. The, that's an attractive woman way. I keep looking at her nose stud, how it glitters in the window opposite, and how much more interesting it makes her. What else is pierced I wonder. She notices that I'm noticing and smirks a little. I notice that she noticed and I shrug a little and smile. I have nothing to hide, I'm a funny guy, with wit, charm, and a nice car. The emergency announcement is made again, this time with the added information that we will be resuming our way and bypassing the Civic Center station. Relief passes amongst the denizions of the car. People, emboldened by our recent near imagined tragedy begin to talk. The car starts moving. What do I say, I think. Nothing clever comes to mind. The wit and charm seem nowhere to be found and the car is parked on Sacramento. What do I do? The train brakes suddenly and I pitch, not violently or anything, into her. I immediatly turn the color of a lobster which makes her laugh. I'm sorry, I mumble, barely able to speak. I'm really not all that into fate and things, but it was a nice opening, and so we chatted a little bit. I didn't ask about other piercings or whether or not I would qualify for a doomsday shag, just general stuff. I complimented her on the nose ring. It seems that she was coming back from a rally. Ooh, dangerous. She's probably a vegan and drives a Peugot that she has dedicated to saving the world with, it's bumpers a billboard of peace and tolerance in our mickey fickey world. But I think that is part of what attracted me. Aside from she was the most doable in my general vicinity when the announcement was made. So, at her stop I gave her my phone number, didn't ask for hers. Or her email address. I figure that fate, chance, what have you brought me this far, I'll let it ride. Anyway, I'm off to the store to buy biscuit and gravy ingredients for tomorrows potluck. I had meant to get them on the way home but I was distracted with other things.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland