Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-11-01 - 6:34 p.m.

I'm using an IMac to enter this installment, because I am at one of those trendy internet cafe's and coffee shops that have sprung up in the urban sprawl around college campus' nationwide. The last time I used an internet cafe instead of my wireless conection and laptop was in Germany where the keyboard was all messed up. However you could request a US keyboard from the bar, so it wa pretty cool. There were lots of college students checking up on friends and family members there, and the same crowd seems to be here, only sans backpacks large enough to hid a body in. I think that in another world I would like the Mac. I used Apples growing up as my middle school didn't have enough money for IBM's for everyone, and so we would use spreadsheets to write programs, and if we were lucky, allowed to enter them. Me being the trendy guy that I am, always had to be good enough to use the IBM, so it was a status thing. Anyone could use the Apples, only the select few were allowed the holy grail that was IBM. So of course when I convinced my parents that we needed a home computer more advanced than the TI we had, I steered them towards the IBM, even though the friendly apple was less expensive and more user friendly. But I had to be the only one who could use it, because I wanted it to be all mine. And I won that battle. However it was a bittersweet victory because I had, and still have, to provide the always needed technical help. Nowadays, with Windows and it's easy interface the IBM is everyone's friend, and only the geeks know Unix based programming, know what Lotus is, and fondly remember ancient email systems like Pine and CC Mail. Everyone Yahoo's or hears the ubequitous "You've Got Mail" whenever they log on. I'm not really going anywhere with this, so if you've stuck with me this long, I apologize. San Dimas High School Football RULEZZZ!!!!

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland