Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-11-12 - 4:59 p.m.

Today has not been a good day. For anyone it seems, with the new tragedy in NY, plus the weather here is very dark, stormy, and miserable. I had to go over to our Mfg plant today to finalize some export documents for one of our largest customers, and I just about lost it. Surrounded by ugly, people with such meaningless lives. It was as depressing as the weather. I know that one should be tolerant of others, but really, it's hard. Our shipping department specializes in hiring people who are unaware of the benefits included with the dental plan. We also, it seems like to hire chain smokers who must take smoke breaks every 5 minutes. In the course of my 2 hour soujourn to the other side, I was subjected to a conversation about Orange Jello Salad, which was bought at Safeway but transferred to a new container to fake homemade, psychadelic album art from the 70's, graphic details of a shipping clerks hysterectomy, and a 20 minute conversation from a woman who's mentholated breath made my already pounding head threaten to black out on me. I so longed for the comfort of the sales office, miles away. The classic elegance and understated furnishings that inspire confidence and success in visiting customers is so far removed from the garage sale look they have going on here. It's not that we don't have insipid conversations at my office, they are just more appliciable to the life that I live, comments about the stock market, the price of a good used german automobile, what the wine crop is going to look like this year, etc. At least I got to leave early, giving me a much needed respite. I think I'll go take an Aleve, sip some tea, watch PBS and brush my teeth compuslivly until the new episodes of Absolutely Fabulous air tonight.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland