Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-11-11 - 11:00 p.m.

I just saw Heist, David Mamet's new film, and it's pretty good. The cast is great, which makes the film work as the subject is a little bit tired. I like Mamet, don't get me wrong, but the double double triple cross schtick is a little predictable now. I like his more offbeat non-congame films like the Winslow Boy and State and Main. Or his early work like Glengarry Glenn Ross. However I was entertained, and everything wrapped up nicely, with the talk and banter smart. He picked on the Swiss actually, rather than go for the easy targets in Europe, like France or Holland. I like that about Mamet. Hopefully the IMDB will post some of his comments about the Cookoo Clocks. The crowd was good, which is hit or miss in my neck of the suburban jungle, mostly because I think that all of the normal riff raff was across the hall in Shallow Hal. I kind of wanted there to be people lined up to buy Harry Potter Tickets ala Star Wars, dressed up for us Muggles, but you didn't have to wait for days to get advanced tickets, you can get them online at Fandango. Or so the copious amounts of lobby advertisement, and the lame commercials dubbed "preshow entertainment" informed us. That and Brittany Spears drinks Pepsi. Whole lotta Brittany and Pepsi going around that theater. It's not that this is news to me, I remember the whole Bob Dole thing, it's just that I kind of let it simmer in the back of my mind rather than take up valuable cognitive space. Anyway, I'm off to Fandango.com to buy those advance tickets, while Stronger plays softly on my stereo and the Pepsi can next to me sweats an indelible ring into my nightstand. I'm just thankful that little demon is gone.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland