Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-12-15 - 9:58 p.m.

Well, aside from two large gifts, I think my holiday shopping is complete. Along with the balance of my bank account. But such is the way the world works during the heady days leading up to Christmas. The city was a mess today with holiday shoppers in anything but the holiday spirit. People at the Metreon parking garage were willing to kill for premium parking spots and I saw no less than two fights. Illegal turns, sudden bitch flips, triple deep illegal parking, today I saw it all. Feeling smugly superior because I was above all that, I had a list and a purpose and single minded determination not to be swayed from my task. And I wasn't. I finished earlier than I expected and managed to pick up some nice little stocking stuffers. I had gone to Chinatown with the Asian Program Manager (who's marriage I'm in a moral quandry about, Should I break it up?) and she bargained some shop keepers down for me. Plus she looks good and I was trying on Silk Robes as a stand in for her father-in-law. We finished early afternoon over tea and egg tarts at a tiny chines cafe. The tea was mixed with condenced milk and tasted just like the cups that the secratary in our Singapore office would bring me. This pleasant experience is probably what allowed me to rise far above the maddening crowds downtown. Now I've got a bunch of wrapping to do, but I'm thinking of putting it off until tomorrow. Or the 24th.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland