Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-12-23 - 4:17 p.m.

I got Quoted! Now that I know what an honor this is, I'd like to thank my DSL Server, my unorthodox childhood, and the DMC MVPN dialer that allows me to connect to the internet from wherever I am. These things made it possible. But I would be remiss if I didn't thank Weetabix who nominated me.

I had the most horrendous drive imaginable. It took me 24 hours to go from San Francisco to Ogden Utah. Twice the normal time. Along the way I lost a chain, spun out of control and barely managed to hold it together during the 10 hours it took to go from Sacramento to Reno. My sister had an unfortunate chaining accident that sliced up her finger and it took three hours to drive to the nearest hospital, where she recieved three stitches and a tetanous shot. I'll stop with the poor me, as it was one of those types of events that fortify a person, make them stronger. Because we survived. There were moments that I didn't think we would. Images of the Donner Party sprang to mind, but fortunatly we were well stocked with crackers, cookies, and treats. Plus I could probably survive on water alone for months, and still weigh in a healthy weight. We thought of stopping and sleeping in Reno, but after all the trials and tribulations encountered int he long hours before it became necesary to face the adversity and soldier bravely onward. Digging deep down and finding the spirit of our Pioneering Ancestors (who probably traveled first class by train with porters and servents but still felt it was "roughing it") we managed to drive all the way through and arrive, exhausted but fulfilled at my parents house this afternoon. And now I have to go hob nob with relatives and family (they are seperate but equal groups) which means I need more vodka.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland