Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2002-01-08 - 5:52 p.m.

I just learned today that Dave Thomas of Wendy's fame has died. I was surprised at my reaction. I couldn't stand the commercials or the chain but he was an institution. I can't imagine the commercials without him. I think it was all the grease though in his food that probably did him in. Maybe now we'll actually get to see what Wendy looks like. I mean, the whole marketing campaign is probably going to have to be scrapped. I don't know about the rest of the world, but I associate the tubby man in the ancient convertable with the cheeky Pippi Longstocking doppleganger, who probably got her looks from her Mother. It's not like Dave had personality going for him. Or looks, so it was probably money. Or perhaps it was the kennel at home that drove him to success, to be a succesful business owner and entrapenuer. Regardless, I will miss the man. And I think I'll go through my TIVO listings and see if I can't find any commercials to save for posterity. At least until the E! True Hollywood story comes out with the bits about his perfectionism, technophobia, and prostitution rings. I think I'll stop now before I end up further down in Hell than I already am.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland