Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2002-09-26 - 10:23 p.m.

I just saw the movie Singles Ward. It made me homesick. Just a little bit. I�m not Mormon, and on the surface, it�s a movie about, for, and by Mormons. But I also spent a good deal of my childhood in Utah. And from a cultural standpoint, this movie is spot on. All the strangeness and naivet� of Utah life was pictured on the big screen. I�m sure that to the rest of the world, the movie is one giant long WTF?

I guess the real question that I should be asking myself, is why is it playing here?

I think part of the nostalgia trip has also been finding a bunch of my old diaries and stories from High School. Things I don�t necessarily need to relive. Or maybe I do, it�s hard to say. I am glad that I�ve grown up. It�s amazing actually. The difference between what I thought was clever then to what I think is clever now. I�m such a different person. While I was watching the film tonight, I wanted the people I hang out with to be watching it as well. Because it reflected a culture that I�m comfortable with, and when I was growing up set a lot of my standards. Standards I tried to forget as soon as I left, but really, you can�t change those kinds of things. I will never think it strange to mix mayonnaise and ketchup together for dipping your fries into. I will always view drinking and any other type of intoxicant as a choice, and respect peoples choices. It�s never appropriate to swear in public. Saying Fudge instead of Fuck is completely different. The little things.

So, I spent a short car ride home introspectively reviewing my life. And here I am. No real profound changes or anything A little bit of missing my old friends back home behind the Zion curtain. My parents are working out a plan to divest their interest in the family business. It�s a long ways away, but it�s still being planned. And I�m not part of that plan, something they both hoped I would be. I always viewed it as my safety net, if everything else fell apart I could rebuild. But now, that�s going away. I have some mixed feelings about it all. Rather childish feelings I must admit. It�s interesting that such a something would come up today of all days. It was their anniversary and I called to wish them one via their answering machine, but they picked up, surprising me momentarily into forgetting. I�m good at that. Give me a pointer and a room full of people and I have spontaneity coming right out of my ass. Throw a kink in my planned answering machine message and I�m a babbling idiot. One of my weaknesses, along with the sauce. Soy, actually. It�s delicious but makes me bloat like the end of the month. So, they are meeting with someone they�ve known a long time, bringing him into the business with the intent of having him buy them out at some point in the future. All this as I�m reminding the powers that be at my current job of my ultimatum to quit should I (or is it my department) be transferred. I have impeccable timing.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland