Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2004-01-17 - 5:50 p.m.

I was asked to read a script that one of my coworkers had written. It was crap. I told him, albeit nicely and he was offended. Now he feels the need to explain his trite and obvious subtexts and badmouth me.

It�s a paint by numbers plot involving a Tennis Pro who works for the CIA. Now, if he worked for the Mafia and wanted out, THAT would be a different story. Or not. People don�t work for the CIA anymore, do they? It�s all independent contractors and foreign nationals these days, I would think. It�s not all Alias with the gadgets and things. I imagine there is a lot of cash changing hands, and that�s about it.

Or maybe it is. Either way, the script was stupid. And I doubt that Anna K needs a star vehicle.

That said, I�m going to his birthday party tonight. It�s at some dive bar in the Sunset where they won�t have any good beer on tap and the Top Shelf Vodka will have come from the Cala Market. I don�t intend to stay long however. I wouldn�t go at all but a few of my coworkers whom I like will be there, so it should be good.

So, there. That has been the excitement of the past couple of days. I have joined a book club. Thus far we are in the setting up stages. We are all nominating novels and then we shall draw from a hat the book that we will read and discuss. I�m working on making it a Multi-Media club, so we can do movies as well. There are a couple of people in the group who are reasonably intelligent and I�d like to go see the latest indie favorite and see if the hype is worth it or not. I�m nominating Vanity Fair by William Thackerey. I was considering something more contemporary but eventually decided that I wanted to read a novel that I would have to work towards understanding. That would challenge my ability to pick up on subtext, and would take some effort to read. So, I picked Vanity Fair. We shall see.

In other news, I must do something about this layout. What, I don�t know.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland