Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2005-10-24 - 4:13 p.m.

I am tired. I don't think I have ever been this tired. I need to be 20 again.

I went to journalcon. Horrah. I managed to NOT hump any statues this time. Yes, it's true. There were no statues humped in the creation of this entry. And I'm okay with that. It was a good time, perhaps, to let the statues hump themselves. Let the statues decompress from the tension of the will he/won't he dynamic the city's artwork seemed to possess.

There should be links, but I'm tired. But here are the thoughts and things.

My panel went over well, I thought. Thanks to Beth and Karen D for not piking. It was the journalcon of piking. Although it all worked out. There was a lot of crap flinging about, not journalcon related, but it still seemed to stick to people. And that's sad.

I was able to share a room, which was a nice change. Okay, well, it wasn't really a nice change, but it didn't bother me, or anything. So it worked out as well.

The very amusing Marianne (It's Arianne. Because I am sometimes a tool. But I was also tired. And her friend had an M name) popped her journalcon and karoke cherry, with a group of women, and myself. Which really, that's how it should be. Yes, I had to die, but it was worth it, in the end. And then she was very, very sweet to sit with me while I desperatly attempted to fight a hangover on Sunday morning. It was very sweet, especially after I threatened to throw her off the balcony to the valet stand below, telling people she tripped. No really, murder threats are endearing. I guess you had to be there.

As usual, I laughed and tried to be best dressed but failed again because there are just too many fashionista journalers out there. And the rest of them have personalities. Ba Da Ding! I kid. It was a journalcon of love. (oh yeah, you know what I'm talking 'bout, because yeah, it was that too) and while there was no crying on my part except for tears of joy, there was the previously mentioned sadness. I think it's permeating our culture at the moment. And we were a moment of brightness in the dim. Or something. I really should not try to be deep.

But I'm tired. And my throat hurts from singing. Excuse me, "singing". And while compliments are lovely, that wasn't me fishing for any. I have no regrets, other than the time was over and I didn't spend every waking moment with the people that I care about. Life is short, and our time together was even briefer.

This was my 4th Journalcon, and despite the hiccup of DC they always get better. Or perhaps just more meaningful and the relationships I have made with prior events deepen and I add a few more each time. It's great to see people grow, to find someone that you can ignore all year long and be best friends all over again for three days.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland