Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2006-05-05 - 12:31 p.m.

The country that I visited last month, where my sister is stationed with the Peace Corps, is undergoing some internal strife. It's sad, really, because the country of East Timor has gone through a lot.

My sister is safe, this is in no way a cry for attention. She, and the rest of the peace corps staff where flown to Bangkok this morning, where they will wait and see what is going on. Most of the people have fled from the capitol and are staying in the outlying villages. The people that hosted me on my visit are coping. I suppose everyone is.

Australia is offering to help, though the cynic in me (that no longer has unconditional Aussie love as it used to) says that's to protect thier oil interests. Not mentioned, but really, I think that has something to do with it. There is more information at CNN, or the BBC, you can search for East Timor, and find out more details.

I am very frustrated by everything. I want to help, to make a difference. And I can't, regardless of what motivational speakers, teachers, parents, the media, Guideposts, has told us about life. In this instance, I can't. I just have to wait and see.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland