Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2006-06-24 - 16:28

I just spent a lot of money on iTunes. More than I should have. But then, I get a wild hair every once in a while and I just buy, buy, buy.

I'm all right with it though. Good Music is essential, at least to me. And when I say Good Music, I mean, stuff that I like. I have friends that would tell you my taste in music really doesn't reach "good". I'm okay with that as well. They have individual tastes, whereas I'm more like an all you can eat buffet, my iPod rather than being a personal collection of music that moves me, is more like the bargain basement bin in an FYE that is 4 weeks into a close out sale. Dregs, all of it. And you know, I'm fine with that. I'm an uncomplicated music listener. I used to be one of those people that said, I like everything besides rap and country. But now, I can't even say that. I like some country. I have a lot of rap.

I'm in no way a musicphile. Or audiophile. Or whatever phile it's politically correct to use these days. I know that probably the guy with the vinyl collection who "gets" jazz and thinks scat is a reasonable reaction to it could scoff at my collection of Kelly Clarkson tracks, I can live with his derision. Which, is a little bit of a step for me, growth wise. My favorite album in High School was Heart's Greatest Hits. Yes, it's true. It was hidden, nowhere near the Dead Milkmen and Depeche Mode albums that graced my CD shelf. I've always had a weakness for power ballads, and I'm just now learning to be comfortable with that.

Does this mean I'm ready to go see A New Day in Vegas without pretending I'm only there ironically? I don't know. Only time will be able to tell.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland