Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2007-01-29 - 11:07 a.m.

I'm feeling picked on and abused.

So it goes. Sometimes I allow myself to be fragile and wander about the house puttering with my glass collection, letting it take up most of my time.

This weekend I spent a lot of time reading. I am working through Camp Concentration by Disch, and it is at times highly entertaining and at times very difficult for me to get through. I don't know if it's me or the writing. There are several "notes" that deal with anti catholic ravings that I kept trying to interpret literally, and just couldn't make the leap with them towards anything cohesive. I spent a lot of time with that. All the Faust and Catholocism in the book, along with a nightmare meeting with Thomas Aquinas (I think) has me wanting to retreat into a monostary. I think 400 years ago I would have made a good monk, I actually think today I would make a good monk. I'm fine with the vow of Chastity, robes are very forgiving of the full figure, and the lack of earthly possesions I can deal with. It's just another facet of my desire to just quit the world, to be done with everything and just hide. Why not surrounded by theologians. I think it would make for interesting conversations while one learned about husbandry, farming, and the like.

I'm sure that modern monks do nothing of the sort, but in my head, it's there, and the simplified life is really apealing right now.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland