Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2002-10-29 - 12:12 p.m.

Well, I had a weekend. A long weekend. Since I didn�t come to work yesterday. I ended up calling in sick. And then just kind of hung out. I went to IKEA but didn�t buy anything. I went to Starbucks. I watched Crossing Over. During that show all the pent up guilt over calling in sick when I was perfectly healthy caught up with me, so I turned off the TV and went to bed. I had intended to get a lot of things done. I had spent the entire weekend drinking and really accomplished little. My laptop has picked up some sort of virus, so I was also without the internet. Friday I was okay with it. Saturday, when I needed to figure out how to get somewhere and the best route and then to check the online party invitation I kind of got into a panic. Sunday, well, the withdrawals were pretty bad. I was tempted to go out in the streets and hustle up some time, but really, that�s never a good idea. I went barhopping with friends instead. Well, casual acquaintances really, as most of the people that I hang out with wouldn�t care to get wasted on a Sunday night. I had intended to go to a webcafe near SJSU and try to get into my email and maybe update, plus check online for all the assorted fatal errors and non responding programs my laptop was giving me but the place was shut down. True, it�s been a while since I�ve been there, but I was a bit surprised. I actually want to find out what happened to their machines. They had all sorts of very cool I-Macs with all the candy colors, and I was thinking, after the weekends PC frustrations that a Mac would be a good thing to have. And if I can get one for cheap, well, there we go. I hope my Dell is listening. GET BETTER DAMN YOU!! Actually, that reminds me of the IKEA lamp commercial.

I�m babbling. Something I try not to do. It�s the lack of the web. Really. Suddenly becoming disconnected to the information highway and my return this afternoon via the work LAN has be giddy. The weekend seems so far away right now. People that have heavy online presences talk about how it takes over their lives. I can understand that now. While I won�t be joining any 12 step programs at the moment, nor even cutting back, it takes a strong person to resist the siren call. The difference for me, is that I have an online world and an offline world and never the twixt shall meet. Or something like that. This weekend was spent in the physical world, at the expense of the virtual. I suppose a break like that is healthy. Or at the very least not harmful. I think I�ll go look into seeing about switching computer camps now.


I'm thinking of adding a notify list. So, yeah. There might be one eventually.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland