Your cocktail sir,

Email

Older

Newest

Profile

2001-10-10 - 6:31 p.m.

I left work at 4pm today. Which is quite an accomplishment on a non-school night. Then I went to the gym. Scandalous. Pretty soon I'll be one of those young fit urban people you always see alone, living in sterile flats and sending postcards to thier mothers once a week and whom everyone secretly thinks is gay, regardless of sex. I can't wait. Althouhg those types of people are usually hairless and cool to the touch, two things that I'll never be, so perhaps I'll start a subgenre of that group. The reason for my on time departure is that I learned through the grapevine (a hysterical call from finance about an order I was cancelling) that the company is in worse straights than previously reported, and that we would be laying off all non-essential employees. (That orders' somebodies JOB!) So now I'm totally thrown for a loop. Am I essential? Do I want to be? What if I get picked, what if I don't. It was driving me crazy so I left. I really don't know how to deal with this information, which was why I went to the gym. I thought that working out would maybe help me get my head clear, or at least produce some free endorphins. Plus, I was feeling guilty for being a little bit me-orientated, and that kind of attitude is acceptable at my gym. I do have other career opurtunities, just none that I'm wild about. I could move back home to Utah and work for my dad, or I could take a job offer I got in Salt Lake City. But both jobs entail moving back to Utah, something I'd like to avoid for now. Or I could temp. It's all very confusing, especially as I don't really know what's going to happen to the company I'm at. Damn economy. But again with the lemons to lemonade promise I've made myself, as I was leaving, one of the gentlemen who works in my office, and is a total nut, walks out with me for a smoke and proudly shows me last weekends pet project. He made himself a roll bar out of PVC pipe, and spraypainted it black. Fortunatly, thanks in part to the bomb dropped on me moments before, I was able to maintain, and thus allowed both of us to keep our dignity intact. But man, it was funny. I so lost it in the car. And then of course couldn't reach anyone inside to tell them. He's installing aftermarket foglamps this weekend, and then "that baby will be just about right" Life is so infinitly fascinating. I think I'll have to bring my camera and take some pictures.

previous - next

Zen and don't cry out loud - 2007-07-29

Zen and the stumbling rocks of fitness - 2007-07-19

- - 2007-07-11

Zen and fasting - 2007-06-20

Zen and hiccups - 2007-06-18

Guestbook Notes

Hosted byDiaryland